Introverted Zentan-girl!

In case any one missed my original and first attempt at Zentangle/fan art, please check this post here.I was lucky enough to have an amazing response which inspired me to continue. I have a severe issue with acceptance and often shy away from sharing things with others since I always, immediately, think that whatever it is I am sharing, whether a joke or an art,  will be really hated and then I will end up having a bout of depression and a severe quarter life crisis for about a week.

sad panda meme

Remember the other day when I was telling you about my bastard cat, Soup? and do you remember how awful I told you he was? Good, because I want to wring his neck! just look at what he did…
zentangle pattern
LOOK AT IT! LOOK AT THAT! WHATTHEFUCKDIDYOUDOYOUHORRIBLECATMOTHERFUCKER!?

As if it wasn’t possibly the best art my hands have ever given birth too? Like it wasn’t the best thing I have ever achieved in my life? My proudest piece of art since, since, since…. EVER?

Yeah, so that happened. I wanted to get very cross but I didn’t. I just hid it from my sight and kicked the cat (out). I do like to zentangle and I did start another one that has yet to be completed, not because I can’t be bothered to finish, but because I had an amazing Idea that had to take precedence over all other WIP’s (work in progress)

Unfortunately, I don’t have any progress shots so I’m just going to share the finished design with you and share all my notes instead… Please, Cast your eyes upon my latest attempt at a fan-art!

harry potter fan art, zentangle art

The only thing I wanted to achieve with this design was having the HP as negative space. That was what my idea consisted of. Negative space and Zentangle. I planned all along to zentangle around the HP but I didn’t know exactly where I was going or what I was doing. It took me a few free hand sketches on some scrap paper to find a shape I liked and then I put it into action.

Some Close ups…

harry potter fan art, Zentangle artNormally, after finishing a piece, I look at it and look at it and make a few notes.

Here’s the notes I made on this piece.

TIME –

  • 1 hr 45 min Pencil work.
  • 1 hr 17 min black work.
  • 1 hr 22 min colour work.
  • 7:30 – 11pm. 2 fag breaks.
  • 4 hr 24 min draw time.

LEARNT –

  • New weave technique.
  • Negative space works well with colours.
  • Lines work well.
  • How to do swirls.

INSPIRATION –

  • RAINBOW – emotions
  • RED AND BLACK WRITING – Hogwarts Express
  • ELDER WAND – Obvious Reasons
  • SWIRLS – Magic
  • TEAR SHAPE – Emphasis on sadness

LIKES –

  • Rainbow Swirls
  • Negative Space
  • Shape/Design
  • inclusion of elder wand

 

DISLIKES –

  • Overdone with colour – bigger areas needed to rectify
  • crammed feeling  – again, bigger areas
  • colours in letter gaps – should have left them as they should be to rectify

OVERALL –

  • Too much colour and black – could’ve used bigger spaces/patterns without disturbing the overall shape
  • Should’ve done it neater in general. My line work is shoddy

JOB DONE!

Hope you like it 🙂

_________________________________________________________________________

Photo resources (panda)  Originals by Faye @ Introverted Fangirl.

 

8 thoughts on “Introverted Zentan-girl!

  1. Shafali says:

    IG, you must give yourself more credit. Your designs are delightful. For a change, let others judge them. You have an innate sense of color-contrast, color-balance, and your line-work is good. Smile while you draw and write 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kangopie says:

    I think Soup the cat is your biggest fan….cat must know there’s great art within you and isbtryna coax it out!

    I love this picture its so pretty. I dont know all the technical terms but that HP is popping! What do the words in red and black say?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

